Drug Abuse Policy and Penalties
TCU has the responsibility of maintaining an educational environment conducive to academic achievement and at the same time helping young people grow into mature and responsible adults. Though each individual ultimately must decide whether or not to use alcoholic beverages, the University, through its Board of Trustees, has determined what practices will be permitted on campus (see Code of Student Conduct, Section 3.2.11). Students should be aware that the legal drinking age in the State of Texas is 21 years of age. Texas Christian University will conform to state law and also has further specific regulations to govern the use, sale and possession of alcoholic beverages on the property of the University.
Students who choose to drink, either on or off the campus, are expected to handle alcohol responsibly and conform to the laws of this state. Violation of state law, city ordinance or University regulations will be considered grounds for disciplinary action.
Except for certain specified areas in University residence halls, the consumption, sale, or use of alcoholic beverages is prohibited on the campus including the stadium and parking lots of Texas Christian University.
Residents of legal age (21 years) and over may possess and consume alcoholic beverages in their rooms or in the rooms of other students 21 years of age or older. The consumption of alcoholic beverages is prohibited in hallways, stairways, elevators, lobbies, lounges, recreation areas, restrooms, and all other areas of the residence hall.
The purchase or sale of alcoholic beverages is prohibited everywhere on the campus. Furthermore, no person may provide any alcoholic beverages to nay person less than 21 years of age. Student's rooms may not be used as an "open bar" but may be used for private gatherings with no more than six guests, all of whom must be at least 21 years of age.
Being intoxicated is a violation of The code of Student Conduct. Any student whose behavior evidences drunkenness on the campus will be in violation of the TCU Alcohol Policy and is subject to the sanctions of the TCU Alcohol Policy.
Containers designed for alcoholic beverages and empty containers will be treated as evidence of use in residence hall rooms. Containers may not be used for decorative purposes.
Violations Procedures and Sanctions
Students must carry student IDs at all times and should present them upon request of a University staff member (including resident assistants).
Resident hall students will be asked to sign a statement that they have read and understand the University alcohol policy at the time of check-in.
Any violation of the alcohol policy will subject the student to the following minimum disciplinary sanctions:
The first alcohol violation in an academic year will result in a $150 fine, an alcohol assessment, and a required educational workshop (or 30 hours of community service in lieu of fine).
The second alcohol violation in an academic year will result in a $225 fine, a letter home to the student's parents, an additional alcohol assessment, attendance at an 8-hour educational workshop, and 45 hours of community service.
The third alcohol violation in an academic year will result in a $300 fine, further alcohol assessment, one year of disciplinary probation, possible expulsion from University housing, and 60 hours of community service.
Any individual(s) who bring a keg or similar prohibited container to the campus is subject to a $100 fine, removal of the person from all University residence halls, and appropriate disciplinary action.
Any organization that allows a keg or similar prohibited container on campus property is subject to a $500 fine. I a second violation occurs, a second $500 fine will be billed and the organization that permits the serving of or serves alcoholic beverages in University facilities is subject to the same penalty as for a keg. Further, student organizations are required to follow the regulations of the Student Organizations Committee with regard to the sale of tickets or advertising for off-campus events where alcohol may be served.
Alcohol in Residence Halls
The alcohol policy in the residence halls and fraternity and sorority houses at Texas Christian University is designed to support the University, city, state and federal laws as well as to create an environment conducive to learning appropriate and healthy attitudes and behaviors regarding the use of alcohol in our society.
Any violation of the alcohol policy in fraternity or sorority chapter houses that is determined to be organizational rather than individual will be referred to the IFC or Panhellenic judicial boards for disciplinary action following the procedures outlined by the IFC or Panhellenic Constitution and By-Laws. Other organizational violations will be referred to the judicial board of the Student Organizations Committee for appropriate action.
Drug Abuse Policy and Penalties
Students enrolled in Texas Christian University are subject to disciplinary action for the possession, manufacture, use, sale or distribution (by either sale or gift) of any quantity of any prescription drug or controlled substance or for being under the influence of any prescription drug or controlled substance, except for the use of an over-the-counter medication or for the prescribed use of medication in accordance with the instructions of a licensed physician. Controlled substances include, but are not limited to, marijuana, cocaine, cocaine derivatives, heroin, amphetamines, barbiturates, LSD, PCP, and substances typically known as "designer drugs" such as "ecstasy" or "eve". Possession of paraphernalia associated with the use, possession or manufacture of a prescription drug or controlled substance is also prohibited.
The minimum penalty for a first-time violation of the Drug Abuse Policy for use or possession of a prescription drug or controlled substance will be disciplinary probation for a full year and a requirement for participation in a drug abuse education and/or treatment program. Any student who violated the Drug Abuse Policy for use or possession of a prescription drug or controlled substance for a second time will be suspended from the University for at least one year. Possession of drug paraphernalia will subject a student to the same penalties as those imposed for use and possession of a prescription drug or controlled substance.
The penalty for a violation of the Drug Abuse Policy for sale, distribution, or manufacture of a prescription drug or controlled substance will be permanent expulsion from the University.
Legal Sanctions for Illegal Use of Alcohol and Other Drugs
In addition to sanctions imposed by the University for violation of the Alcohol Use Policy and the Drug Abuse Policy, a student may be subject to regulations of civil authorities. Various local, state and federal regulations prohibit the illegal use, possession and distribution of illicit drugs and alcohol. Penalties for violation of such statutes vary depending on the type of drug, the amount of the drug involved, the type of violation, and in the case of alcohol, the age of the person involved. For further information, see the 1998-1999 TCU Calendar Handbook section, Drugs.